The webinar will start in:

Course registration

The use of acellular dermal matrices in the soft tissues management around teeth and implants

Speaker: Martina Stefanini

Live Webinar: 17th December, 2018, 6:00 PM CET Other time zones

The treatment of gingival recessions has become an important therapeutic issue due to the increasing number of cosmetic requests from patients.

Details


The goal of mucogingival procedures is to obtain complete root coverage, up to the cementoenamel junction, along with an increase of soft tissue thickness to maintain the result in the long term, reducing the risk of recession recurrence. The use of a coronally advanced flap in conjunction with a collagen matrix avoids the need for autograft harvesting, thus reducing patient morbidity and discomfort. The collagen matrix will support blood clot stabilization by serving as a scaffold for ingrowing blood vessels and fibroblasts; within a few months, the matrix will be completely degraded and the blood clot will be gradually transformed into new connective tissue, which will be responsible for the increase in soft tissue thickness. This represents a key aspect of the long-term success of root coverage.

The use of a promising porcine acellular dermal matrix for peri-implant soft tissues thickness increase as well as its long-term clinical outcome will also be described.

Course date in other time zones

Los Angeles, USA

17 Dec 2018, 09:00 AM

New York, USA

17 Dec 2018, 12:00 PM

London, United Kingdom

17 Dec 2018, 05:00 PM

Berlin, Germany

17 Dec 2018, 06:00 PM

Bucharest, Romania

17 Dec 2018, 07:00 PM

Moskow, Russian Federation

17 Dec 2018, 08:00 PM

Hong Kong, China

18 Dec 2018, 01:00 AM

Bangkok, Thailand

18 Dec 2018, 12:00 AM

Speaker

Martina Stefanini
Martina StefaniniWORK EXPERIENCE
  • From February 2018 Researcher at the University of Bologna
  • Member of the Editorial Committee of the Italian Society of Periodontology in 2018/2019
  • Member of the Scientific Committee of the Italian Society of Periodontology in 2016/2017
  • From February 2017 to February 2018 research assistant at Bologna University
  • Visiting Professor at San Raffaele University Milan 2015-2016
  • Teacher at the postgraduate Dental School San Raffaele University Milan 2017
  • Teacher at the II level International Master at Bologna University 2017/2018
  • Since 2012 active member of the Italian Society of Periodontology (SIDP)
  • Since 2013 PhD student in General Medical Sciences at University of Bologna
  • Since 2005 to 2013 awarded research grant working with Prof.Giovanni Zucchelli
  • Since 2013 Ph.D. student in General Medical Sciences at University of Bologna
  • Since 2005 to present dental surgeon in private practice as an expert in Periodontology
  • Since 2005 to present member of the medical and dentistry association of Bologna
EDUCATION AND TRAINING
  • April 2016 obtained Ph.D. in Medical Sciences
  • September 2014 - attended “Good Research practice and essential of research methodology” course in Luzern (Switzerland) at Osteology Foundation
  • Since 2013 Ph.D. student in General Medical Sciences at University of Bologna
  • March 2012 - passed the admission exam of the Italian Society of Periodontology
  • February 2011 - obtained level II Master in Periodontology at the University of Siena(Italy)
  • 2008-2010: attended level II Master in Periodontology at the University of Siena (Italy)
  • 2005-2011:awarded research grant working with Prof.Giovanni Zucchelli
  • 2005 university degree (final score 110 cum laude)

Ask the Expert

Post your question or comment